Aerospace Engineering
Finding Articles and Conference Papers
- Compendex (in Engineering Village 2)
- Finds and lists everything that is published in engineering. It includes articles in trade magazines, articles in scholarly journals and conference papers.
- AIAA Electronic Library
- A search engine for AIAA articles and conference papers. Cal Poly has most of the AIAA journals but none of the conference publications. The items Cal Poly does not own would have to be ordered through Interlibrary Loan.
- SAE International
- A search engine for SAE journal articles and technical papers. Cal Poly subscribes to most of the journals, but the papers have to ordered through Interlibrary Loan.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
- Covers only journals and trade magazines.
- Aerospace Database
- Lists all AIAA journal articles, conference papers, and other aerospace related journal articles. It also includes listings of NASA publications. If you would like a search done in the database, inquire at the Reference Desk.
- OAIster
- A collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources.
- Scirus
- Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- Kennedy Library's listing of books, technical reports, senior projects, Cal Poly masters theses, journal titles, multimedia, software, and other kinds of items. Start looking here.
- LINK+
- This search engine lists what is in more than 30 different libraries throughout California. The nice thing about this search engine is that you can electronically place an order for the item to be delivered to you here at Cal Poly.
- Melvyl
- This database lists over 12 million items contained in the libraries of the University of California system and the California State Library. Any item you find in Melvyl that is not available at Cal Poly can be ordered through the Kennedy Library's Interlibrary Loan.
- WorldCat
- This database is the largest of the book databases. It includes books plus videos, web resources, CD-ROMs, and many other kinds of documents. Again, most things you find listed in the database will have to be ordered through our Interlibrary Loan service.
NASA reports
There three possible locations: Generally, the reports prior to 1985 are shelved in the Government Documents section on the third floor of the library. Reports published after 1985 are either on microfiche in the Reference Microforms Room or they are available on the web.
- NAS 1.10: Memorandum
- NAS 1.12: Technical Reports
- NAS 1.14: Technical Note
- NAS 1.15: Technical Memorandums
- NAS 1.26: Contractors' Reports
- NAS 1.29: Tech Briefs
- NAS 1.60: Technical Paper
Trade Magazines
- ABI/ INFORM
- A business database that lists trade publications from all industries including the aerospace industry.
- LEXIS/ NEXIS
- Lists trade magazines from various industries. Once you get into this search engine, choose "Business," then "Industries & Markets."
Searching PolyCat by Aerospace Subjects
- Engineering Design Sources
- Engineering design
- Structural design
- Aerodynamics
- Aerodynamics — and various sub-headings
- Boundary layer
- Drag (Aerodynamics)
- Laminar flow
- Lift (Aerodynamics)
- Turbulent boundary layer
- Aircraft Design
- Airframes — and various sub-headings
- Airplanes — Design and construction
- Airplanes — Jet propulsion
- Jet propulsion
- Stability of airplanes
- Aircraft Systems
- Aeronautical instruments
- Airplanes — Control systems
- Airplanes — Equipment and supplies
- Flight control
- Space Systems
- Astronautics — Systems engineering
- Reusable space vehicles — Design and construction
- Space ships — Design and construction
- Space vehicles — Design and construction
- General search terms
- Aeronautics, commercial
- Aeronautics — Economic aspects
- Aerospace industries
- Aircraft industry
- Airlines
More online sources
- Aerodynamics
- Advanced Topics in Aerodynamics. This site is an electronic book on aerodynamics, computational fluid dynamics, aeronautics, propulsion systems and related technology. The areas covered involve low to high speed flows, steady and unsteady flows, up-to-date computational methods.
- Space Systems
- NASA Space Design Guidelines. PDF files.
Aerospace Industry
- Aerospace Facts & Figures. (updated yearly)
- Call Number: Reference. TL501 .A818
- Includes tables of data on aircraft production, missile production, space programs, air transportation, U.S. research and development budgets & expenditures, foreign trade, and employment in aerospace industries.
- Aviation & Aerospace Almanac. (updated yearly)
- Call Number: Reference. TL501 .A9
- Includes tables on airline revenues & expenses, passengers, freight, costs of business, forecasts, airport regional analysis, traffic, consumer satisfaction, rankings, Department of Defense budgets, procurements, inventory, forecasts, as well as the space and avionics industries.
- Jane's All the World's Aircraft. (updated yearly)
- Call Number: Reference. TL501 .J3
- This is the primary sources for basic specifications of all aircraft in the world. Along with a table of operational and engine specifications, it usually gives a photo and a line drawing of the aircraft. Additional tables cover aircraft classified by type, the year's first flight, official aircraft records, international aircraft registration prefixes, air-launched missiles, and a section with brief information on aero-engines.
- World Air Transport Statistics. (2003)
- Call Number: Reference. TL720 .A1.W6
- Lists air transport and freight statistics by air carrier.
- Jane's Space Directory. (1995/96)
- Call Number: Reference. TL787 .J28
- Covers world-wide space programs, launches, flights, and space probes. It also lists world space centers and space industry data.


