Art & Design
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
What is scholarly publication?- Academic Search Elite
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including the arts. Some full text articles available.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including the arts. Some full text articles available.
- Art Abstracts
- Indexes art, art history, architecture, landscape architecture, city and regional planning, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, and photography journals from 1984 to present. No full-text.
Finding Images
- WorldImages Kiosk
- A searchable image database created by various faculty, staff and students of the CSU system. Contains over 50,000 historical images from a wide variety of fields, that are global in coverage, and include all areas of visual imagery.
- ArtStor
- Contains 500,000+ images document artistic traditions across many times and cultures: architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
Additional Online Resources
- Grove Art
- Provides authoritative background articles on artists, art forms, artistic styles, cultures and periods. Includes access to images through the Bridgeman Art Library and points to additional image links on the web.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, and standard university reference works covering most subject areas.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- Use PolyCat, the online catalog, to find books (and other materials) in the Kennedy Library.
- Link+
- Use Link+ to find and order books available at other California libraries. The books arrive at the Kennedy Library Circulation Desk within 3 days for you to check out.
If you don’t find the book you need in PolyCAT or LINK+, submit an interlibrary loan request.
For more information about locating books, read the "Finding Books" page.


