Biological Sciences
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles and Conference Papers
What is a scholarly publication?- BIOSIS Previews
- This is the primary research tool in the life sciences including journal articles and conference papers from around the world. (The printed predecessor is Biological Abstracts. (1927 – 1966) which Cal Poly has in storage). (QH301 .B37).
- Biological and Agricultural Index
- A smaller database covering over 250 journals which generally are available at Cal Poly. These journals cover the life sciences including cellular biology, biochemistry, agriculture etc. Coverage is from 1983 to date.
- Marine, Oceanographic and Freshwater Resources (MOFR)
- This database provides indepth coverage of marine and freshwater resources from important research institutes around the world including Inst. of Oceanographic Sciences Deacon Lab., Proudman Oceanographic Lab., National Marine Biological Library , Southampton Oceanographic Centre, Geosystems, NOAA, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations, the Virginia Institute of Marine Science - College of William and Mary, the Long Island Sound Resource Center, and the RSMAS Library. The ASFIS Reference Series is also included.
- MEDLINE
- MEDLINE (15 million citations from the National Library of Medicine) is a comprehensive database of clinical medicine and all aspects of biomedicine and serves as an index to the medical literature. The Kennedy Library has this database available from 2 different vendors/platforms:
- PubMed
- PubMed includes the MEDLINE database from the National Library of and also data from the life sciences as part of the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. Sub sections of NCBI’s PubMed include nucleotide and human genome sequences, protein sequences and structures and OMIM (online mendelian inheritance of man)
- OAIster
- A collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that is easily searchable by anyone.
- Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
- A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines including agriculture, astronomy, biochemisty, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, physics, plant sciences, veterinary science and zoology.
- Zoological Record
- Zoological Record is a comprehensive reference database covering all aspects of modern animal research, including: Behavior, Biodiversity, Conservation, Ecology, Evolution, Genetics, Habitat, Morphology, Nomenclature, Parasitology, Physiology, Reproduction, Taxonomy, Zoogeography Sources for Zoological Record include: More than 5,000 serials published in over 100 countries, Monographs (including reports), Books, Newsletters, Conference papers and abstracts.
Search Engines
- Google Scholar
- Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly and research organizations in many disciplines. Full text articles are available when the library has a subscription to the journal.
- Scirus
- Most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet, enabling access to over 250 million science-specific Web pages that pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical, and medical data on the Web and find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints, and journal articles.
Patent Literature
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
- This website provides access to U.S. granted and expired patents and to U.S. trademarks.
Electronic Encyclopedias
- The Birds of North America Online
- A comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Contents will be updated frequently, with online-coordinated contributions from researchers, citizen scientists, and designated reviewers and editors. In addition, BNA Online will build image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more. And each online species account will contain recordings of that bird's songs and calls, selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Science
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Volume 1, Lower Metazoans and Lesser Deuterostomes
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Volume 2, Protostomes
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Volume 3, Insects
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Volume 4-5, Fishes, I-II
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Volume 6, Amphibians
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Volume 7, Reptiles
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Volume 8-11, Birds
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Volumes 12-16, Mammals I-V
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer: A Guide to Cancer and Its Treatment
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
- Encyclopedia of Public Health
- Encyclopedia of Aging
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
For more information, contact the reference desk or call (805) 756-2649.


