BioResource & Agricultural Engineering
Finding Articles in Journals and Magazines
- Mass Media
- Examples: Time, Newsweek, and New York Times.
- Academic Search Elite
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Trade Magazines
- Examples: ENR magazine, Resource magazine, and American Society of Agricultural Engineers.
Finding Articles in Scholarly, Research Journals
- Applied Science and Technology Abstracts.
- Covers the Civil Engineering perspective of Architectural Engineering and also Mechanical Engineering.
- AGRICOLA.
- Lists what has been published in Agriculture, including design and engineering of structures and equipment for farms.
- Engineering Village 2.
- Another, larger engineering database.
Finding Books and Government Reports
- PolyCat.
- Lists what is available here at Cal Poly.
- LINK+
- Lists what is available in 32 libraries throughout California. Cal Poly students can place an online request to have any item on one of the other libraries to be delivered to Cal Poly.
- Melvyl.
- Lists what is in the libraries of the nine campuses of the University of California. It also includes government reports from California agencies such as Cal OSHA and Cal Trans as well as federal agency studies from such agencies as FEMA, EPA, HUD, and USGS.
Civil Engineering
- Civil Engineering Practice: Volume, Structures.
- Call Number: Ref TA9.C68 1988, vol. 1
- Lancaster, PA: Technomic, 1988.
- Civil Engineering Handbook.
- Call Number: Ref TA151.C57 2003
- Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2003.
- Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers.
- Call Number: Ref TA151.S8 1996
- New York: McGraw-Hill, 1996.
- Building Design and Construction Handbook.
- Call Number: Ref TH151.B825 1994
- New York: McGraw-Hill, 1994.
- Civil & Environmental Engineering Research Guide
Geotechnical Engineering
- Agricultural Engineering Soil Mechanics.
- Call Number: MAIN TA710 .M3855 1989
- McKyes, Edward.
- New York: Elsevier, 1989.
- Foundations and Earth Structures.
- Call Number: Documents, 3rd floor. D 209.14/2:7.2
- Alexandria, VA: Naval Facilities Engineering Command, 1982.
- Soil Dynamics, Deep Stabilization, and Special Geotechnical Construction.
- Call Number: Documents, 34d floor. D 209.14/2:7.3
- Alexandria, VA: Naval Facilities Engineering Command, 1983.
Farm Structures
- Design in Agricultural Engineering.
- Call Number: MAIN. S675.C48 1986
- Christianson, L. L., and Roger P. Rohrbach.
- St. Joseph, MI: American Society of Agricultural Engineers, 1986.
- CRC handbook of engineering in agriculture.
- Call Number: MAIN S675 .C73 1988
- Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 1988.
- Agricultural buildings and structures.
- Call Number: MAIN TH4911 .L56
- Lindley, James A. and James H. Whitaker.
- St. Joseph, MI: American Society of Agricultural Engineers, 1996.
- Structures and Environment. Structures and Environment Handbook. 11th ed.
- Call Number: MAIN. TH4916.S7 1983
- Subcommittee, Midwest Plan Service.
- Ames, IA: Midwest Plan Service, 1983
- CIGR Handbook of Agricultural Engineering: Vol. II, Animal Production & Aquacultrual Engineering.
- Call Number: Ref S676.C55 1999, Vol. 2
- International Commission of Agricultural Engineering.
- St. Joseph, MI: American Society of Agricultural Engineers, 1999.
- PolyCat search terms
- "Farm and buildings"
Farm Machines
- CRC handbook of engineering in agriculture.
- Call Number: MAIN S675 .C73 1988
- Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 1988.
- CIGR Handbook of Agricultural Engineering: Vol. III, Plant Production Engineering.
- Call Number: Ref S676.C55 1999, vol. 3
- International Commission of Agricultural Engineering.
- St. Joseph, MI: American Society of Agricultural Engineers, 1999.
- CIGR Handbook of Agricultural Engineering: Vol. IV, Agro-Processing Engineering.
- Call Number: Ref S676.C55 1999, vol. 4
- International Commission of Agricultural Engineering.
- PolyCat search terms
- Agricultural machinery
- Farm equipment
- Farm mechanization
- Plows
- Tillage
- Tractors


