Citing Images APA Examples
An image in an online database (AP Photo Archive)
- Caption Example

- Figure 1. Swan Lake in Golden Gate Park, San Franciso (1999). Source: AP Photo Archive, copyright Eric Risberg, 1999.
- Bibliographic Citation Example
Risberg, E. (Photographer). (1999). Lake Boating, [Online Image]. Retrieved October 15, 2007, from AP Photo Archive.
An image in an online database (Library of Congress American Memory Project)
- Caption Example

- Figure 2. Golden Gate Park, San Francisco (1903-1906?). Source: American Memory from the Library of Congress, photo by Joseph Collier.
- Bibliographic Citation Example
Collier. J. (Photographer). (1903-1906?). [], [Online Image]. Retrieved October 15, 2007 from The Library of Congress' American Memory website. http://photoswest.org/cgi-bin/imager?00130282+C-282
An image from a website
- Caption Example

- Figure 3. Golden Gate Park Map, San Francisco (2001). Note: Copyright Lee W. Nelson, 2001-2007.
- Bibliographic Citation Example
Nelson, L. (Artist). (2001). Golden Gate Park Map, [Online Image]. Retrieved October 15, 2007 from Lee Nelson iNeTours.com Internet Tours. http://www.inetours.com/Pages/SFLndmrkVws/GGP_Map.html
An image from a website (artist known, no title or date)
- Caption Example

- Figure 4. Photograph of Golden Gate Park, San Francisco (n.d.). Note: Copyright Liam Quinn (made available under a Creative Commons License)
- Bibliographic Citation Example
Quinn, L. (Photographer). (n.d.) [Photograph of Golden Gate Park, San Francisco], [Online Image]. Retrieved October 15, 2007, from Liam Quinn's Home Page. http://htmlhelp.com/~liam/California/SanFrancisco/GoldenGatePark/
An image from a website (artist and date unknown)
- Caption Example

- Figure 5. The Conservatory of Flowers at Golden Gate Park, San Francisco (n.d.). Source: SFTravel.com.
- Bibliographic Citation Example
Conservatory of Flowers Golden Gate Park [Online Image]. (n.d.). Retrieved October 15, 2007, from SFTravel.com. http://www.sftravel.com/ggpark.html
An image from a book(give the image a caption, & cite the book in which the image appears)
- Caption Example

- Figure 6. Golden Gate Park. Source: Harnik, p. 17 (2000).
- Bibliographic Citation Example
Harnik, P. (2000). Inside city parks. Washington, DC: Urban Land Institute.
An image from a journal article (give the image a caption, & cite the article in which the image appears)
- Caption Example

- Figure 7. Site plan of the De Young Museum, in San Francisco's Golden Gate Park, showing formal gardens (scale approx 1:2500). Source: Article by Rob Gregory in The Architectural Review (2005).
- Bibliographic Citation Example
Gregory, R. (2005). Full metal jacket: the de Young Museum may appear tough and impenetrable, but in reality exploring its interiors is a delight; just like a wall in the park. The Architectural Review, 218(1304), 46-61.
