Chemistry and Biochemistry
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles and Conference Papers
What is scholarly publication?- Bielstein Crossfire
- Provides basic chemical properties and preparations for organic compounds. Beilstein is searchable in multiple ways, including chemical structure, formula, and physical property parameters. Beilsein indexes periodicals, books, disserations, and patents.
- BIOSIS Previews
- This is the primary research tool in the life sciences including journal articles and conference papers from around the world. (The printed predecessor is Biological Abstracts. (1927 – 1966) which Cal Poly has in STORAGE). (QH301 .B37).
Chemical Abstracts
- SciFinder Scholar
- This is the main index to articles and patents in Chemistry. Of all the chemistry research tools available at Cal Poly, this offers the greatest power for specifying your required results. Over the years it has been presented in printed and electronic formats:
-
- 1907 – 1994 - Printed version (REFERENCE Annex, 3rd floor. QD1.C3)
- 1840 – present
- ACS Publications
- Allows you to search the online archive of the journals published by the American Chemical Society.
- PubMed
- PubMed includes the MEDLINE database from the National Library of and also data from the life sciences as part of the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. Sub sections of NCBI’s PubMed include nucleotide and human genome sequences, protein sequences and structures and OMIM (online mendelian inheritance of man)
- OAIster
- A collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that is easily searchable by anyone.
- Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
- A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines including agriculture, astronomy, biochemisty, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, physics, plant sciences, veterinary science and zoology.
Scholarly and science oriented search engines
- Google Scholar
- Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly and research organizations in many disciplines. Full text articles are available when the library has a subscription to the journal.
- Scirus
- Most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet, enabling access to over 250 million science-specific Web pages that pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical, and medical data on the Web and find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints, and journal articles.
- Patent Literature
- This website provides access to U.S. granted and expired patents and to U.S. trademarks.
Finding Books
- Schaum's Easy Outlines. Organic Chemistry
- PolyCat
- The Kennedy Library online catalog of books, journals, and other resources.
- If you don’t find the title there, submit an interlibrary loan request.
Electronic Encyclopedias
For more information, contact the reference desk or phone (805) 756-2649.
Other Websites
- WebReactions
- Abstract: WebReactions introduces a new concept for the retrieval of reactions from a large database in which reactions are indexed instead by the bond changes which occur. When a synthetic chemist thinks of a reaction, he envisions first the making and breaking of bonds at the reaction center as the defining nature of the reaction. Subsequently he considers the effects of surrounding groups, i.e., on rate, hindrance, or resistance to change under the reaction conditions. The WebReactions program mirrors this approach for indexing reaction entries in any database.
- Freie Universitat Berlin. Institut fur Chemie und Biochemie
- Abbreviations of Chemical Compounds. 2005. Last viewed 15 December 2005. Abstract: Type in an abbreviation of the name of a chemical compound.
- Freie Universitat Berlin. Institut fur Chemie und Biochemie.
- Acronyms and Abbreviations.
- Indiana University, Bloomington. Chemistry Library. Chemical Acronyms Database.
- National Center for Manufacturing Sciences. NCMS Solvents.
- A free database of commercially available solvents searchable by many properties.
- Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (NC-IUBMB)
- Enzyme Nomenclature.
Toxicology
- Occupational Exposure to Hazardous Agents
- Occupational health and toxicology database designed to link jobs to hazardous job tasks that are linked to occupational diseases and their symptoms.
- Household Products Database.
- Abstract: Gives the chemical make-up of common household products. You will have to then check the toxicity of each ingredient in other toxicological sources
- TOXNET
- TOXNET is a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.
- Hazardous Chemical Database
- Contains names, formulas and registry numbers for 1991 hazardous chemicals


