Communication Studies
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
What is scholarly publication?- Communication and Mass Media Complete
- An excellent database for communication and mass media studies. Indexes over 450 publications in communication studies, broadcast media, journalism and related fields. Provides full text articles from about 200 titles.
- Academic Search Elite
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including communication and media studies. Some full text articles available.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including communication and media studies. Some full text articles available.
- PsycINFO
- A very comprehensive index to materials in psychology and allied fields. Useful for communications studies topics such as oral communication, nonverbal communication, interpersonal communication, and related subjects.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- Use PolyCat, the online catalog, to find books (and other materials) in the Kennedy Library.
- Link+
- Use Link+ to find and order books available at other California libraries. The books arrive at the Kennedy Library Circulation Desk within 3 days for you to check out.
If you don't find the book you need in PolyCAT or LINK+, submit an interlibrary loan request.
For more information about locating books, read the "Finding Books" page.
Finding Criticism on American Orators
- American Voices: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Orators
- Provides an online collection of essays about major American orators since 1960, including presidents, politicians, activists and jurists.
- More Resources
- See this additional web page for a list of more resources for criticism on American Orators at Kennedy Library
Finding Speeches
- American Leaders Speak- Recordings from WWI and 1920 Elections
- Provides the text and sound recordings of turn-of-the-century American leaders, including Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and Henry Cabot Lodge.
- American Political Thought On the Web
- Includes oratory of major U.S. political and social leaders.
- American Rhetoric: Online Speech Bank
- Indexes 5000+ text-based, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, lectures, and debates.
- Douglass: Archives of American Public Address
- Extensive archive of American oratory.
- Feminist.com - Articles and Speeches by Women
- Includes speeches and articles by women from the feminist perspective.
- Gifts of Speech – Women's Speeches from Around the World
- Includes speeches by influential contemporary women from around the world, such as Emma Goldman, Mother Teresa, and Naomi Wolf, and includes an index of female Nobel laureates.
- History Channel.com — Speeches
- Large collection drawn from the most famous broadcasts and recordings of the twentieth century.
- "I Do Solemnly Swear...": Presidential Inaugurations
- Collection of approximately 400 items from each of 54 inaugurations, organized chronologically by the Library of Congress.
- PresidentialRhetoric.com
- Provides resources for the study of presidential rhetoric.
- Vital Speeches of the Day
- Full-text speeches on a wide variety of political topics, from 1985 to the present.


