Computer Engineering
Finding Articles and Conference Papers
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
- A great place to start looking for articles. Cal Poly has most of the sources listed in this database so you can read them immediately. Use the "Find it" link on the full record display to see if it is in paper form in the library or out on the web.
- INSPEC
- The largest database listing journal articles and conference papers in the fields of electrical engineering, computer science, and physics.
- IEL (IEEE/IEE Electronic Library)
- Covers all IEEE and IEE journals and conference papers. Cal Poly has electronic access to the journals, but not the conference papers which must be ordered through the Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
- ACM Digital Library
- Lists all the journal articles and conference papers published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Cal Poly only has paper subscriptions to ACM journals; check PolyCat for call numbers.
- CiteSeer: Research Index
- Scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. Developed at the NEC Research Institute
- Google Scholar
- A version of Google that is supposed to return only scholarly sources
- Scirus
- Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet
- The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
- Computer Science Preprint Server
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- This is Cal Poly Library's own database that lists what is available here at Cal Poly. It lists all our books, government documents, as well as over 50,000 senior projects and masters theses.
- LINK+
- This database brings together the catalogs of over 30 libraries in California. The main advantage of this database is the ability to place an order to have items in other libraries delivered to Cal Poly for your use.
- Melvyl
- This database lists over 12 million items contained in the libraries of the University of California system and the California State Library. Melvyl includes primarily books, but it lists many (but not all) publications from U.S. federal agencies (like the Defense Department, Energy Department and NASA). Any item you find in Melvyl that is not available at Cal Poly can be ordered through the Kennedy Library's Interlibrary Loan.
- WorldCat
- This database is the largest of the book databases. It includes books plus videos, web resources, CD-ROMs, and many other kinds of documents. Again, most things you find listed in the database will have to be ordered through our Interlibrary Loan service.
- Google Book Search
- Searches the words inside the books, not just the title and subject words. You must check each title in PolyCAT to see if Cal Poly owns a copy of the book.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
Call Numbers
| Subject | Call Numbers |
|---|---|
| Online information systems | QA76.54 – QA76.57 |
| Multimedia | QA76.575 |
| Mobile computing | QA76.59 |
| Programming languages | QA76.6 – QA76.73 |
| Software engineering | QA76.75 – QA76.765 |
| Algorithms | QA76.9. A43 |
| Computer architecture | QA76.9. A73 |
| Simulation | QA76.9. C65 |
| Database design | QA76.9. D26 |
| Data mining | QA76.9. D343 |
| Data structures | QA76.9. D35 |
| Human-computer interaction | QA76.9. H85 |
| Computer logic | QA76.9. L63 |
| Natural language processing | QA76.9. N38 |
| System design | QA76.9. S88 |
| Computer networks | TK5103.7 – TK5105.9 |
| Computer engineering | TK7885.A1 – TK7895.T73 |


