English

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

What is scholarly publication?
Project Muse
Full-text journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, published from 1997 to present.
MLA Bibliography
Indexes journal articles for language and literature, published from 1963 to present. Some full-text available.
JSTOR
Contains full-text of older scholarly journals in most fields. The coverage for each journal begins with volume 1. Because JSTOR is an archival database, issues are not available for the latest 3-5 years.

Other Sources

Literature Resource Center
Full-text biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of over 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
Voice of the Shuttle
University of California at Santa Barbara project for academic research in the humanities, including English literature and literatures of other languages, music, theater, dance, art, and languages.
Yale University Library

Additional Online Resources

Oxford English Dictionary
Most comprehensive full-text dictionary of the English language.

Finding Books

PolyCat
Use PolyCat, the online catalog, to find books (and other materials) in the Kennedy Library.
Link+
Use Link+ to find and order books available at other California libraries. The books arrive at the Kennedy Library Circulation Desk within 3 days for you to check out.

If you don’t find the book you need in PolyCAT or LINK+, submit an interlibrary loan request.

For more information about locating books, read the "Finding Books" page.