Journalism
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
What is scholarly publication?- Communication and Mass Media Complete
- Indexes over 450 publications in journalism, broadcast media, advertising, public relations, communication studies, and related fields. Provides full text articles from about 200 titles.
- Academic Search Elite
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including journalism and media studies. Some full text articles available.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including journalism and media studies. Some full text articles available.
Finding Newspaper Articles
- California Newspapers (NewsBank)
- Provides full text articles from over 20 California newspapers, some (like the San Francisco Chronicle, Sacramento Bee, San Jose Mercury News, San Luis Obispo Tribune) from the mid-1980s to present.
- ProQuest Newsstand
- Provides full text articles for 500 U.S. and international newspapers, including the New York Times and the Los Angeles Times.
- Ethnic Newswatch
- Provides full-text of newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native press, published from 1990 to present.
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
- Provides full-text of current (and older) issues of major newspapers including the New York Times and news magazines, published since late 1980s. Provides full-text transcripts from non-print news media such as National Public Radio, CNN, Fox, ABC, CBS, and NBC, published since late 1980s.
Newspaper Websites
- Newspapers and News Media Guide
- A directory of online news media around the world. Provides information on media type (broadcast, internet, magazine, newspaper), focus (general interest, business, etc) and language.
- OnlineNewspapers.com
- A directory of online newspapers, organized geographically and alphabetically.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- Use PolyCat, the online catalog, to find books (and other materials) in the Kennedy Library.
- Link+
- Use Link+ to find and order books available at other California libraries. The books arrive at the Kennedy Library Circulation Desk within 3 days for you to check out.
If you don’t find the book you need in PolyCAT or LINK+, submit an interlibrary loan request.
For more information about locating books, read the "Finding Books" page.


