Kinesiology

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles and Conference Papers

What is scholarly publication?
Sport Discus
This database offers comprehensive indexing of literature pertaining to sports, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, physical fitness and related disciplines. Over 565,000 records, with citations from over 1,200 periodicals (published 1975-present), books and theses (1949-present), conference reports, and videotapes.
ERIC
Major database for educational resources with coverage from 1966 to the present. Included are articles and documents on teaching sports and fitness.
General Science Abstracts
An excellent online index to start searching for topics in kinesiology, astronomy, biological sciences, chemistry, geology, medicine, physics, etc. Good for interdisciplinary searches. Many of the journals indexed in this database are held by the Kennedy Library.
Expanded Academic Index
A "one size fits all" type database. It covers a few journals in every academic discipline plus many mass media publications. It is a good place to start since it covers so many different disciplines.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE (15 million citations from the National Library of Medicine) is a comprehensive database of clinical medicine and all aspects of biomedicine and serves as an index to the medical literature.
PsychInfo
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines including the psychological aspects of sports and exercise.

Scholarly and Science-Oriented Search Engines

Google Scholar
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly and research organizations in many disciplines. Full text articles are available when the library has a subscription to the journal.
Scirus
Most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet, enabling access to over 250 million science-specific Web pages that pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical, and medical data on the Web and find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints, and journal articles.

Finding Books

PolyCat
The Kennedy Library online catalog of books, journals, and other resources. If you don’t find the title there, submit an interlibrary loan request.