Materials Engineering
Finding Research Articles and Conference Papers
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
- This database includes only articles from the top 600 most heavily used journals in Engineering. Most of the articles come from journals published by the major American professional societies: ACM, IEEE, ASCE, ASME, SAE, etc. The one great advantage of using this database is that there are hyperlinks out to the electronic full text of the articles, when they are included in Cal Poly's subscriptions.
- Compendex (Engineering Village 2
- Compendex is a vast database of over 10 million references to engineering articles, conference papers, and other resources. It covers all engineering topics and includes resources from around the world in many languages. There are no hyperlinks out to Cal Poly's full text journals, so you must search in PolyCat to see if Cal Poly has the items you turn up in the database.
- Google Scholar
- A version of Google that is supposed to return only scholarly sources.
- OAIster
- A collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources.
- Scirus
- Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- This is Cal Poly Library's own database that shows what is available here at Cal Poly. It lists our books, government documents, as well as over 50,000 senior projects and masters theses.
- LINK+
- This database brings together the catalogs of over 30 libraries in California. The main advantage of this database is the ability to place an order to have items in other libraries delivered to Cal Poly for your use.
- Melvyl
- This database lists over 12 million items at the libraries of the University of California system and the California State Library. Melvyl includes primarily books, but it lists many (but not all) publications from U.S. federal agencies (like the Defense Department, Energy Department, and NASA). Any item you find in Melvyl that is not available at Cal Poly can be ordered through the Kennedy Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
- WorldCat
- This database is the largest of the book databases. It includes books plus videos, web resources, CD-ROMs, and many other kinds of documents. Again, most things you find listed in the database will have to be ordered through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Materials, Machine
- Tool materials
- Call Number: Reference. TS320 .T66 1995
- Davis, J. R.
- Materials Park, OH: ASM International; 1995.
Materials, Steel
- Carbon and alloy steels.
- Call Number: Reference. TA479.C37 C37 1996
- Davis, J. R.
- Materials Park, OH: ASM International; 1996.
Materials, Testing
- Handbook of nondestructive evaluation.
- New York: McGraw-Hill; 2001.
- Call Number: Reference. TA417.2 .H45 2001
- Hellier, Charles.
Materials, Thermodynamic Properties
- Pressure-volume-temperature relationship of organic compounds. 3rd ed.
- Sandusky, OH: Handbook Publishers, 1952.
- Call Number: MAIN. QD518 .D7 1952 (Oversize)
- Dreisbach, Robert R.
- Thermophysical properties of high temperature solid materials>.
- Call Number: Reference. TA418.26 .P8
- Thermophysical Properties Research, Center.
- New York: Macmillan, 1967.
Tribology and Wear
- Tribology handbook.
- Call Number: Reference. TJ1075 .N4
- Neale, M. J.
- London, England: Butterworths: 1973.
- Standard handbook of lubrication engineering.
- Call Number: Reference. TJ1075 .S8
- O'Connor, James J.; Boyd, John, and Avallone, Eugene A.
- New York: McGraw-Hill for American Society of Lubrication Engineers; 1968.


