Mathematics

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles and Conference Papers

What is scholarly publication?
MathSci Net (produced by the American Mathematical Society)
Covers international mathematics literature, contains signed reviews and bibliographic data from 1940 to the present. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are indexed. Items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical Reviews but not given an individual review are also included.
General Science Abstracts
An excellent online index to start searching for topics in astronomy, biological sciences, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, physics, etc. Good for interdisciplinary searches. Many of the journals indexed in this database are held by the Kennedy Library.
Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines including agriculture, astronomy, biochemisty, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, physics, plant sciences, veterinary science and zoology.
Digital Mathematics Library (DML)
A collection of retrodigitized mathematics journals and books.

Scholarly and Scientific Search Engines

Google Scholar
A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. Full text articles are available when the library has a subscription to a particular journal.
Scirus
Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet. Scirus searches over 250 million science-specific Web pages, enabling you to quickly:
  • Pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data on the Web.
  • Find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints and journals that other search engines miss.

Finding Preprints and Reports

Front for the Mathematics ArXiv
UC Davis has prepared a front end to the ArXiv for the Mathematics Section of ArXiv. There are approximately 51, 000 primary mathematics documents and nearly 7,000 secondary. One can either search all 58,000 items are once or look at entries for any of the 31 sections from algebraic geometry to general topology to spectral theory.
MPRESS: Mathematics Preprint Search Service
Includes some European servers not covered elsewhere.
AMS Directory of Mathematics Preprint and e-Print Servers
The mission of the Directory of Preprint and e-Print Servers is to make available to the mathematical community the current homepage URLs and email contacts of all mathematical preprint and e-print servers throughout the world.

Finding Books

PolyCat
The Kennedy Library online catalog of books, journals, and other resources. If you don’t find the title there, submit an interlibrary loan request.