Mathematics Education
Online Databases
- Academic Search Elite
- Indexes over 2,900 publications, including scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies,as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Full-text articles are provided for over 1,300 periodical titles.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Indexes over 1400 core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences as well as some popular publications, including the New York Times. About one-third of the indexed articles are available full-text online. Coverage from 1980 to the present.
Books
- Developing mathematical reasoning in grades K-12
- Discusses developing mathematical reasoning in schoolchildren at all school levels, as well as reasoning through analogies and many other topics.
- How students (mis-)understand science and mathematics: intuitive rules (Online)
- Discusses the rules children and adults use to perform mathematics operations
- How to teach Mathematics
- Offers hands-on guidance for teaching mathematics in the modern classroom setting.
- Inventive strategies for teaching mathematics : implementing standards for reform
- Includes chapters on choosing curricula, teaching strategies, and assessment. Also includes a section on finding resources.
- Math and music : harmonious connections
- Interdisciplinary approach to math instruction.
- Math worlds : philosophical and social studies of mathematics and mathematics education
- Offers treatment of mathemaics as it relates to the philosophical and social.
- The mathematical experience
- Introduction to the history, philosophy, principles, and personalities of mathematics.
- Mathematics classrooms that promote understanding (Online)
- Describes classrooms that promote understanding with chapters on the teaching of algebra, statistics, and basic number concepts.
- PolyCat Search Heading Suggestions
- Mathematics--Study and Teaching
- Mathematical Recreations
- Children's literature in mathematics
- Games in mathematics education
Journals dedicated to Mathematics Instruction
- International Journal for Mathematics Teaching and Learning
- This journal, which is published only in electronic form, aims to enhance mathematics teaching for all ages (and abilities) up to 18 years, through relevant articles, reviews and information from around the world. It is aimed at practitioners and educationalists, providing a medium for stimulating and challenging ideas, offering innovation and practice in all aspects of mathematics teaching and learning.
- Journal of Online Mathematics and Its Applications
- JOMA presents original research articles on student learning via online materials and other technology-rich environments, as well as significant new ideas for designing and using Web-based materials in teaching, learning, and assessing mathematics. JOMA also includes sections dealing with authors' experiences teaching with Web-based materials other articles on related subjects, with particular emphasis on use of applications for teaching and learning.
- Journal of Statistics Education (Online)
- JSE disseminates knowledge for the improvement of statistics education at all levels, including elementary, secondary, post-secondary, post-graduate, continuing, and workplace education.
- Mathematics teacher
- Mathematics Teacher (MT) offers activities, lesson ideas, teaching strategies, and problems through in-depth articles, departments, and features. Great resources for secondary teachers, preservice teachers, and teacher educators.
- Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
- School (MTMS) offers activities, lesson ideas, teaching strategies, and problems through in-depth articles, departments, and features. Great resources for middle grades teachers, preservice teachers, and teacher educators.
- School Science and Mathematics
- School Science and Mathematics (SSM) is the official journal of the School Science and Mathematics Association. SSM emphasizes issues, concerns, and lessons within and between the disciplines of science and mathematics in the classroom.
- Statistics Education Research Journal
- The Statistics Education Research Journal is published jointly by the International Association for Statistical Education and the International Statistical Institute to encourage research activity in statistics education, advance knowledge about students' attitudes, conceptions, and difficulties as regards stochastic knowledge and improving the teaching of statistics at all educational levels.
- Teaching Children Mathematics
- Teaching Children Mathematics (TCM) offers activities, lesson ideas, teaching strategies, and problems through in-depth articles, departments, and features. Great resources for elementary teachers, preservice teachers, and teacher educators.


