Mechanical Engineering
Finding Articles and Conference Papers
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
- This database includes only articles from the top 600 most heavily used journals in Engineering. Most of the articles come from journals published by the major American professional societies: ACM, IEEE, ASCE, ASME, SAE, etc. The one great advantage of using this database is that there are hyperlinks out to the electronic full text of the articles, when they are included in Cal Poly's subscriptions
- Compendex (Engineering Village 2)
- Compendex is a vast database of over 10 million references to engineering articles, conference papers, and other resources. It covers all engineering topics and includes resources from around the world in many languages. There are no hyperlinks out to Cal Poly's full text journals, so you must search in PolyCat to see if Cal Poly has the items you turn up in the database.
- SAE Publications & Standards database
- A search engine for journal articles and technical papers published by the Society of Automotive Engineers.
- INSPEC
- A physics and electronics database which also includes a lot of basic research on materials and mechanical processes.
- Google Scholar
- A version of Google that is supposed to return only scholarly sources.
- OAIster
- This search engine searches for papers researchers have posted on their web sites.
- Scirus
- Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.
- Web of Science
- A database which tells you who else has cited an article you have in hand. The theory is that any who cites the paper you have in hand must be discussing the same topic.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- This is Cal Poly Library's own database that lists what is available here at Cal Poly. It lists all our books, government documents, as well as over 50,000 senior projects and masters theses.
- LINK+
- This database brings together the catalogs of over 30 libraries in California. The main advantage of this database is the ability to place an order to have items in other libraries delivered to Cal Poly for your use.
- Melvyl
- This database lists over 12 million items contained in the libraries of the University of California system and the California State Library. Melvyl includes primarily books, but it lists many (but, not all) publications from U.S. federal agencies (like the Defense Department, Energy Department, and NASA). Any item you find in Melvyl that is not available at Cal Poly can be ordered through the Kennedy Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
- WorldCat
- This database is the largest of the book databases. It includes books plus videos, web resources, CD-ROMs, and many other kinds of documents. Again, most things you find listed in the database will have to be ordered through our Interlibrary Loan service.
- Google Book Search
- Searches words inside books, not just the words in titles and subjects, as the other book search engines do. You must check each title returned in PolyCAT to see if Cal Poly owns the book.
Machining
- Machining data handbook.
- Call Number: MAIN. TJ1185 .M2 1980
- 3rd ed. Cincinnati, OH: The Center, 1980.
- Machinists' ready reference.
- Call Number: Reference. TJ1165 .W33 1989
- 7th ed. Ann Arbor, MI: Prakken Publications, 1989.
- Machinery's handbook.
- Call Number: Reference. TJ151 .M3
- New York: Industrial Press, 2004.
Piping and vessels
- 1998 ASME boiler & pressure vessel code: an international code.
- Call Number: Reference. TJ290 .A52 1998
- New York: American Society of Mechanical Engineers, c1998.
- Piping stress handbook.
- Call Number: Reference. TJ930 .H397 1986
- 2nd ed. Houston, TX: Gulf Pub. Co. , 1986.
- Pump handbook.
- Call Number: Reference. TJ900 .P79 2001
- 3rd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2001.
- Pressure vessel handbook.
- Call Number: Reference. TS283 .M37 1992
- 9th ed. Tulsa, OK: Pressure Vessel Handbook Pub. , 1992.
- Piping handbook.
- Call Number: Reference. TJ415 .P54 1992
- 6th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1992.
Tribology and wear
- Tribology handbook.
- Call Number: Reference. TJ1075 .N4
- London, England: Butterworths, 1973.
- Standard handbook of lubrication engineering.
- Call Number: Reference. TJ1075 .S8
- New York: McGraw-Hill for American Society of Lubrication Engineers, 1968.
- Wear control handbook.
- Call Number: MAIN. TA418.4 .W4
- New York: American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 1980.
Welding
- Welders guide.
- Call Number: MAIN. TS227 .B847 1973
- Indianapolis: T. Audel.
- Handbook of structural welding.
- Call Number: MAIN. TS227.2 .L36 1993
- New York : McGraw-Hill, c1993.
- Structural welding code. Steel.
- Call Number: Reference. TS227 .A47
- Miami, FL: American Welding Society, 2004.
- Welding handbook.
- Call Number: MAIN. TS227 .A449122 1987
- 8th ed. Miami, FL : American Welding Society, c1987.
Publishing in Engineering
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.
- Call Number: REFERENCE DESK, Z6941.U5
- Online: http://www.ulrichsweb.com/ulrichsweb/
- This directory lists most of the journals published in the world. It can be searched by title and discipline (such as Mechanical Engineering).
- World List of Scientific Periodicals.
- Call Number: Reference. Q1.W67
- Periodical Title Abbreviations.
- Call Number: REFERENCE DESK. PN4832 .P47
