Physics

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles and Conference Papers

What is scholarly publication?
INSPEC
Provided by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, it is the leading source of research and development literature in the fields of physics (includes Physics Abstracts) electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control and information technology from 1969 to date.
General Science Abstracts
An excellent online index to start searching for topics in astronomy, biological sciences, chemistry, geology, medicine, physics, etc. Good for interdisciplinary searches. Many of the journals indexed in this database are held by the Kennedy Library.
Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines including agriculture, astronomy, biochemisty, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, physics, plant sciences, veterinary science and zoology.

Scholarly and Science Oriented Search Engines

Google Scholar
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly and research organizations in many disciplines. Full text articles are available when the library has a subscription to the journal.
Scirus
Most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet, enabling access to over 250 million science-specific Web pages that pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical, and medical data on the Web and find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints, and journal articles.

Finding Preprints and Reports

Lanl.arXive.org ePrint archive.
Operated by Cornell University. Open access to 377,472 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science and Quantitative Biology
High Energy Physics Information Center
Information server that catalogs various HEP Resources throughout the world. HEPIC exists, to aid the HEP Researcher in locating information quickly and efficiently. HEPIC is funded by the Department of Energy Division of High Energy Physics and is supported by the Fermilab Computing Division.
CERN Document Server
Over 800,000 bibliographic records, including 360,000 fulltext documents, of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. Covers preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more.

Finding Books

PolyCat
The Kennedy Library online catalog of books, journals, and other resources. If you don’t find the title there, submit an interlibrary loan request.