Political Science
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
What is scholarly publication?- Academic Search Elite
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including political science, public policy and related fields. Some full text articles available.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including political science, public policy and related fields. Some full text articles available.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
- Full-text source of policy briefs, working papers, journal articles, and case studies on theory and research in international affairs, published from 1991 to present.
- JSTOR
- Full-text articles from more than 40 core political science and public policy journals. Because this is an "archival" database, coverage begins with volume 1 of each journal, but the most recent issues (latest 3–5 years) are not available within JSTOR.
- Project MUSE
- Full text articles from selected journals in the humanities and social sciences, including political science. Some titles available from 1997 to the present.
Finding Newspaper Articles
- California Newspapers (NewsBank)
- Provides full text articles from over 20 California newspapers, some (like the San Francisco Chronicle, Sacramento Bee, San Jose Mercury News, San Luis Obispo Tribune) from the mid-1980s to present.
- ProQuest Newsstand
- Full-text articles for 500 U.S. and international newspapers and business journals, published since 2001.
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
- Provides full-text of current (and older) issues of major newspapers including the New York Times and news magazines, published since late 1980s. Provides full-text transcripts from non-print news media such as National Public Radio, CNN, Fox, ABC, CBS, and NBC, published since late 1980s.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Provides articles from the ethnic, minority and native press, from 1990 to the present. Some scholarly publications included.
Additional International Relations Resources
- Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
- Provides a variety of databases and publications on security-related issues.
- Facts on International Relations and Security Trends
- Collects information related to international relations and security from research institutes.
- Parline Database
- Detailed information on parliamentary bodies throughout the world from the International Parliamentary Union.
- Conflict Resolution Information Source
- Material related to political violence, sponsored by the Conflict Research Consortium at the University of Colorado.
- International Relations and Security Network
- Sponsored by the Center for Security Studies in Zurich, Switzerland, this site supports research projects and education activities, provides news stories and in-depth analyses, and encourages information sharing in the field of international relations.
- Europa SCADPlus
- Provides summaries of EU legislation in all policy areas.
- Eurobarometer
- Includes surveys and studies about the evolution of public opinion on a variety of issues in the EU member states.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- Use PolyCat, the online catalog, to find books (and other materials) in the Kennedy Library.
- Link+
- Use Link+ to find and order books available at other California libraries. The books arrive at the Kennedy Library Circulation Desk within 3 days for you to check out.
If you don’t find the book you need in PolyCAT or LINK+, submit an interlibrary loan request.
For more information about locating books, read the "Finding Books" page.


