Psychology and Child Development

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

What is scholarly publication?
PsycINFO
Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal indexing (1887 to present) covers articles from over 1,500 international journals written in 35+ languages, with full-text articles provided for 242 journals. Book and book chapter coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to present.
Academic Search Elite
Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including psychology, child development, education and related fields. Some full text articles available.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including psychology, child development, education and related fields. Some full text articles available.
PsycARTICLES
Provides online articles from American Psychological Association (APA) journals as well as selected allied publications. Coverage varies by title, with most APA journals available from Volume 1, Issue 1. All PsycARTICLES publications are indexed in PsycINFO.

Additional Article Resources

Education Abstracts
Indexes over 340 leading education journals. No full-text.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes articles in the fields of sociology and related fields such as social psychology, criminology, and race relations.
ScienceDirect, Wiley InterScience, and SpringerLink
Each of these databases provides full-text articles from many scientific journals including a number of publications in psychology and child development.

Finding Psychological Tests or Measures

Consult a subject specialist.

Finding Books

PolyCat
Use PolyCat, the online catalog, to find books (and other materials) in the Kennedy Library.
Link+
Use Link+ to find and order books available at other California libraries. The books arrive at the Kennedy Library Circulation Desk within 3 days for you to check out.

If you don’t find the book you need in PolyCAT or LINK+, submit an interlibrary loan request.

For more information about locating books, read the "Finding Books" page.