Reading
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles and Conference Papers
What is scholarly publication?- Academic Search Elite
- Indexes over 3,400 publications, including scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990 to present. Full-text articles for over 2,000 periodical titles.
- ERIC
- Indexes educational resources, including educational documents and educational journal articles, published from 1966 to the present. Some full-text available.
- JSTOR
- Contains full-text of older scholarly journals in most fields. The coverage for each journal begins with volume 1. Because JSTOR is an archival database, issues are not available for the latest 3-5 years.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- The Kennedy Library online catalog of books, journals, and other resources. If you don’t find the title there, submit an interlibrary loan request.
Consulting Authoritative Websites
- The Clearinghouse on Reading, English, and Communication
- From Indiana University, click on "News about Reading" or "Web Resources" for the latest research findings on topics such as phonics instruction.
- Foundation for Comprehensive Early Literacy Learning
- The Foundation for Comprehensive Early Literacy Learning provides professional development designed to help teachers strengthen their teaching of reading and writing.
- International Reading Association
- The International Reading Association is a professional membership organization dedicated to promoting high levels of literacy for all by improving the quality of reading instruction, disseminating research and information about reading, and encouraging the lifetime reading habit. Members include classroom teachers, reading specialists, consultants, administrators, supervisors, university faculty, researchers, psychologists, librarians, media specialists, and parents.


