Statistics
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles and Conference Papers
What is scholarly publication?- MathSci Net (produced by the American Mathematical Society)
- Covers international mathematics literature, contains signed reviews and bibliographic data from 1940 to the present. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are indexed. Items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical Reviews but not given an individual review are also included.
- Google Scholar
- A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. Full text articles are available when the library has a subscription to a particular journal.
- Scirus
- Most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet, enabling access to over 250 million science-specific Web pages that pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical, and medical data on the Web and find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints, and journal articles.
Finding Preprints and Reports
- Front for the Mathematics ArXiv
- UC Davis has prepared a front end to the ArXiv for the Mathematics Section of ArXiv. There are approximately 51, 000 primary mathematics documents and nearly 7,000 secondary. One can either search all 58,000 items are once or look at entries for any of the 31 sections from algebraic geometry to general topology to spectral theory.
- MPRESS: Mathematics Preprint Search Service
- Includes some European servers not covered elsewhere.
- AMS Directory of Mathematics Preprint and e-Print Servers
- The mission of the Directory of Preprint and e-Print Servers is to make available to the mathematical community the current homepage URLs and email contacts of all mathematical preprint and e-print servers throughout the world.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- The Kennedy Library online catalog of books, journals, and other resources. If you don’t find the title there, submit an interlibrary loan request.
Sources of Statistical Data
- CA Statistical Abstract
- Includes information on geography, climate, population, labor force and employment, income, health and welfare, education, industries, construction, transportation, trade, banking and finance, law enforcement, elections and finally, a Map of California Counties.
- Counting California – California Statistical Abstracts of 2001
- Similar data to above but more current
- California Economic Indicators
- Bi-monthly summary of economic trends and data relating to the State of California.
- FedStats: On Stop Shopping for Federal Statistics
- Access to statistics and information produced by more than 100 US Federal Government agencies.
- U.S. Census Bureau Home Page
- Gateway to the 2000 census data
- World Bank Group: Data
- The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries and is not actually a bank in the common sense. It is made up of two unique development institutions owned by 184 member countries—the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA). Each institution plays a different but supportive role in the mission of global poverty reduction and the improvement of living standards.


