Women's Studies
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
What is a scholarly publication?- Academic Search Elite
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including women’s studies and related disciplines. Some full text articles available.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Indexes core scholarly journals and popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas, including women’s studies and related disciplines. Some full text articles available.
Additional Scholarly Article Resources
Because Women’s Studies is cross-disciplinary by nature, relevant information may be found by using subject-specific article databases such as the following:
- ABI/Inform
- Provides articles from business publications related to the "glass ceiling" and other women’s studies topics.
- America: History and Life
- Indexes materials related US and Canadian history and culture, including items on women’s history. Use the Historical Abstracts database for the study of women in the history and culture of other countries.
- PsycINFO
- A comprehensive index to materials in psychology; may be useful for finding studies on the relationship between gender and behavior, perception, stereotypes, attitudes, personality, etc.
- Sociological Abstracts
- A comprehensive index to materials in sociology; may be useful for finding studies on gender and socialization, group interaction, and other topics related to sociology.
Finding Books
- PolyCat
- Use PolyCat, the online catalog, to find books (and other materials) in the Kennedy Library.
- Link+
- Use Link+ to find and order books available at other California libraries. The books arrive at the Kennedy Library Circulation Desk within 3 days for you to check out.
If you don’t find the book you need in PolyCAT or LINK+, submit an interlibrary loan request.
For more information about locating books, read the "Finding Books" page.


