Marketing

Welcome to the Top-10 Collection website. This collection of resources serves as an excellent starting point for most marketing research projects. The Library databases highlighted here deliver authoritative -- and comprehensive -- marketing information.

Please note that all of the databases are remotely accessible 24/7 to the Cal Poly community.

Top-10 Business Databases for Marketing
ABI/Inform
Business & Industry
Factiva
Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor)
Hoover's Online
Lexis/Nexis
MarketResearch.com Academic
Mergent Online
MRI MediaMark Online
TableBase
 
Top-2 Mainstream Media Databases
Expanded Academic ASAP
ProQuest Newsstand
 
Top-10 Government Resources for Marketing
American Community Survey
American Time Use Survey
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Census Bureau Home Page
Census Bureau Geography
Consumer Expenditure Survey
County Business Patterns & County and City Data Book
Economic Census
Retail and Wholesale Trade Data
Survey of Current Business
 
Data Sets for Marketing
ICPSR
 
Top-10 Print Resources for Marketing Research

Community Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics
Ask at Reference Desk
HB849.4 .S68
Provides detailed information about every Zip code and county in the U.S. Includes:

· 2000 updates and 2005 forecasts
· All residential and non-residential U.S. Zip Codes
· Business data including total firms and total employees
· Spending potential indices for 20 product and service categories
· Dominant ACORN lifestyle segmentation type for each ZIP Code

Lifestyle Market Analyst
REF HF 5415.33U6 .L54
Provides preliminary market analysis at the local, regional or national level. Includes extensive lifestyle information on the interests, hobbies, and activities popular in each geographic and demographic market. Divided into four major sections: Market Profiles; Lifestyle Profiles; Consumer Segment Profiles; and Consumer Magazines and Direct Marketing Lists.
Market Guide (Editor & Publisher)
REF HF 5905.E38
Includes MSAs, Market Rankings by County, MSA, and City, Population Demographics, Retail Sales, Housing Income, E&P Indices, etc.
Market Share Reporter
REF HF5410 .M33
MSR is a compilation of market share reports from periodical literature. Use to gather marketing research, economic analysis, planning, etc.

Survey of Buying Power (Sales & Marketing Management)
REF HF5438 .S24
"The bible of market data."
Offers data for both Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs) and Designated Market Areas (DMAs).

Section 1: Metro and Media Market Rankings
The United States Census Bureau divides the country into 323 geographic areas, which are known as Metropolitan (or Metro) Markets. In this section, the Metro Markets are ranked, from 1 to 323, in 25 different demographic, economic, and sales categories. The U.S. is also dived into 210 TV or broadcast markets known as Media Markets. The Survey of Buying Power uses Nielsen Media Researches definitions of these areas. The Media Markets are ranked, from 1-210, in the same categories as the Metro Markets.

Section 2: Metro and Media Market Totals
Section 2 provides information on population, effective buying income, retail sales, and buying poser for each state, Metro Market, county, and major city in the U.S. The same information is provided for the 210 Media Markets.

Section 3: Five-Year Market Projections
Current and projected data on Population, Effective Buying Income, Retail Sales, and Buying Power Index. Regional and State Summaries; State-by-State Listings of Metro Market Projections; and State-by-State Listings of Media Market Projections.

Section 4: Reference
Includes a detailed glossary and alphabetical listing of Metro and Media Markets.

Business Rankings Annual
REF HG 4050 .B88
Lists of companies, products, services and activities compiled from a wide variety of published sources. The rankings included everything from accounting firms to yogurt!
D&B Business Rankings
REF HG 4057 .A24
Public and private businesses ranked within industry category and state.

Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
REF HG 4057 .A575
Whether it be for contacting a company or calculating its market share, the Ward's series is an invaluable tool for librarians, executives, students, analysts, marketers and all other professionals who require updated company and industry profiles. Your researchers will use Ward's to:

Identify market participants and study market share
Locate potential clients and create targeted mailing lists
Determine parent/subsidiary relationships
Analyze market position and find specific data on targeted companies

Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Directory
REF HC 102 .DB
Includes private and public companies - use volume 4 to get a list of U.S. companies by SIC.
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What
Strategist Publications
REF HC 110 .C6

Based on unpublished data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey - an ongoing, nationwide survey of household spending. The data in Household Spending reveal how American households allocate their spending dollars.
Chapters include:

  • Spending Overview
  • Spending on Apparel
  • Spending on Entertainment
  • Spending on Financial Products and Services
  • Spending on Food and Alcoholic Beverages
  • Spending on Gifts
  • Spending on Health Care
  • Spending on Housing: Household Operations
  • Spending on Housing: Shelter and Utilities
  • Spending on Personal Care, Reading, Education, and Tobacco
  • Spending on Transportation

 

Business Research Portal | Agribusiness Research Portal | Industrial Technology Research Portal |
Cal Poly Home | Kennedy Library | Orfalea College of Business | Agribusiness Department |

© Copyright by Cal Poly/Frank Vuotto 2003
Last Updated March 7, 2007